0 items

No products in the basket.

English Under-21 Championship

The English Under-21 Championship is the national snooker championship for players aged under-21 and has previously been won by future stars including current top 16 player Kyren Wilson.

2019 English Under-21 champion Mark Lloyd

Key Facts (2019/20)

  • The opening stage of these tournaments will consist of three qualifying events (North, Midlands, South).
  • Entry fee £25
  • Players may enter whichever region they choose, regardless of their location.
  • These qualifiers will generate the last 16 of each tournament. Each venue will have at least five qualifiers for the last 16, although the venue with the most entries will gain an additional spot (6,5,5). Should venues have equal number of entries, the EPSB will determine at the time which venue should be allocated the additional qualifying spot.
  • Qualifying events will initially be played in round robin groups (best of three frames) with qualification into a subsequent knockout phase (best of three frames).
  • When determining qualification places for the national last 16, where players don’t qualify ‘outright’ through a knockout phase, the ‘next best’ qualifiers will be determined by their Frame Average in the preceding groups phase. Frame Average (FA) is Frames Won (FW) –Frames Lost (FL) / Matches Played (MP).
  • The national last 16 will be played at one venue in the second half of the season (in 2020). The last 16, quarter-finals and semi-finals will be completed there. Qualifying event winners will be seeded in the national last 16.
  • The formats for this is – seeded with the three regional event winners.  Remaining 13 qualifiers drawn at random.  Straight knock-out best-of-7s.  Play up to final – finalists go through to Finals Weekend
  • The national final will be the best of 13 frames.

Prize Money

Winner £400

Runner-up £200

Semi-finalist £100

Quarter-finalist £50

Highest Break £50 (Shared if equal high breaks are made. If a player makes the same high break more than once, each break will count towards an individual share of the prize)

Previous Winners

2019 – Mark Lloyd

2018 – Louis Heathcote

2017 – Lewis Gillen

2016 – Peter Devlin

2015 – Sean O’Sullivan

2014 – Ashley Carty

2013 – Chris Wakelin

2012 – Kyren Wilson

2003 – Jamie O’Neill

2001 – Andrew Norman

2000 – Luke Fisher

1999 – Jason Barton

1998 – Robert Donkin

1997 – Luke Simmonds